ASTA Announces New Leadership Team, National Award Recipients

  • On June 23, 2021

Washington, D.C.—June 23, 2021–The American Seed Trade Association (ASTA) announced its newly-elected officer team and honored industry award winners during its 2021 Policy & Leadership Development Conference, June 21-23 in Washington, D.C.

Members of the FY2021-22 ASTA officer team—officially taking office on July 1—are:

  • Chair: Brad May, BASF
  • First Vice Chair: Jim Schweigert, GroAlliance, LLC
  • Second Vice Chair: David Armstrong, Sakata Seed America

“It’s an honor to serve on behalf of this great industry, which has proven time and time again—especially this past year– just how resilient, and essential, we truly are. As we head into this new year, it’s my goal to ensure we’re prepared as an industry, and as an association, to continue leading and moving forward, to address whatever future challenges lie ahead,” said May. “From innovations in conservation, cover crop, vegetable and row crop seed, to innovations in seed treatment technology and plant breeding – our diverse industry is helping to drive the solutions for a more sustainable future for farmers, food and the environment. We all play a role, we all have a story to tell, and we are all more impactful when we come together and speak with a strong, unified voice.”

In addition to the new officer team, ASTA announced the recipients of its prestigious annual awards: the Distinguished Service and Lifetime Honorary Member.

Distinguished Service Award: ASTA’s Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual—who may or may not be an ASTA member–who has made outstanding contributions to the seed industry throughout the year. This year’s award was presented to two deserving individuals:

  • Chet Boruff, Chief Executive Officer of the Association of Official Seed Certifying Analysts (AOSCA) – Chet, who is retiring this year, has been an active liaison and tireless advocate for the seed industry, and has been instrumental in providing critical services to increase efficiencies for the seed and agriculture industries.
  • Dr. Barb Glenn, Chief Executive Officer of the National Association of State Departments of Agriculture (NASDA)— Under Barb’s visionary leadership, NASDA has been a strong partner with ASTA in helping to advance policies to benefit American agriculture communities and businesses across the states.

Lifetime Honorary Member Award: ASTA’s Lifetime Honorary Member Award recognizes individuals who exemplify leadership, vision and service. This year’s award was bestowed upon two esteemed industry representatives:

  • Tim Johnson, Illinois Foundation Seeds, Inc. — Tim’s impactful career includes a long history of service and leadership within ASTA as well as the International Seed Federation, where he served as President 2013-14. His leadership was instrumental in furthering ASTA Intellectual Property Rights policy and creating new opportunities for the U.S. seed industry in China.
  • John Schoenecker, H.M.CLAUSE — Retiring in 2019,  after a long and distinguished career in the seed industry, John served in a variety of ASTA leadership positions since 2006, including his year as Chair in 2014-15. He went above and beyond in his efforts to promote and advocate for the seed industry, both domestically and internationally, including his work on the AgAccord and leadership on ASTA trade delegations.

Learn more about the award recipients in ASTA’s commemorative program.

ATTACHMENT: Brad May headshot 


Founded in 1883, the American Seed Trade Association (ASTA) represents over 700 companies involved in seed production, plant breeding and related industries in North America. ASTA is the leading voice of action in all matters concerning the development, marketing and movement of seed, associated products and services throughout the world. The association’s broad membership offers varieties from alfalfa to zucchini and all production types including conventional, organic and biotech. ASTA promotes the development of better seed to produce better crops for a better quality of life.