State Election Overview

  • On November 20, 2018

While the recent elections resulted in some changes in the political landscape in the states, it’s unlikely that policies will change dramatically. In state legislatures, Democrats picked up the majority in seven states: the Colorado Senate, Maine Senate, Connecticut Senate (previously tied), Minnesota House, New York Senate, New Hampshire Senate and New Hampshire House.

Only a few changes occurred in elected officials overseeing state agriculture departments:

  • Alabama: Rick Pate (R) elected to fill the seat vacated by John McMillan who was recently elected as State Treasurer
  • Florida: Nikki Fried (D)
  • Georgia: Gary Black (R) re-elected as Commissioner
  • Iowa: Mike Naig (R) elected as the new Secretary following Bill Northey’s resignation to take the role of USDA Under Secretary for Farm Production and Conservation
  • North Dakota: Doug Goehring (R) re-elected as Commissioner
  • South Carolina: Hugh Weathers (R) re-elected as Commissioner
  • Texas: Sid Miller (R) re-elected as Commissioner